Snap Shot

I apolgize now for the sappiness that is about to follow.

There’s a cute little newborn in the house that would keep me awake all night if it weren’t for the intervention of his father. Much to the new one’s dismay, he spends the hours of midnight – 3 am with his daddy. Don’t get me wrong, he loves his daddy, but we all know that right now I’m his favorite.

And God bless this daddy for taking on the first and sometimes second night-shift. Thanks to his sacrifice, I still have my sanity and get rest every night. Although, after finding a bottle in a random place this morning, I suspect that I might have slept-walked at some point in the early morning hours . .

I met Nick Ristow on a snowy day at Simpson University. The flurries had coaxed the students outside and the boys flirted by throwing snowballs while the girls pretended to be offended.  He threw a snowball at me, I squealed and ran away, that was about it. We had mutual friends and our paths crossed time and time again, but I was assured by a third party that I had no chance with him and so I never entertained the thought. We talked occasionally. Once, he made a big show of disapproving of a boyfriend I had.

On the last day of school, while everyone packed up their belongings for the summer, he packed up his room permantly. He was moving on to his next adventure.

With my very little sisters in tow, I loaded my last box into my car. My roomate was hitching a ride north with Nick Ristow and couldn’t find him. It was the last day of school so I had no qualms about going into the boy’s dorm. With a baby on my hip and a toddler at my side, I walked in and requested to see him.

I’ll never forget the shock on his face. I didn’t understand it then, but I do now. Turns out I did have a chance with him. The moment was awkward. We stared at each other for a few seconds. “She’s waiting for you outside,” I managed to say. I’m not sure if he said anything at all.

It was a strange goodbye, and then I left, fully expecting that it would be the last time I would ever see him.

I think about that moment a lot.

I’m married to him now. He eventually came back to Simpson and I saw him for the treasure he was.

It was around 10:30 last night that I thought about that moment again. Our daughters had finally stopped telling stories to one another in their beds and were sound asleep. Our newborn son was snoring in his bouncy seat. Nick Ristow was standing in my kitchen eating strawberries.

“If you could have seen a snap shot of this life way back then, would you have still married me?” I asked.

“If I had seen a snap shot of this life way back then, I would have thought it was a cruel joke, because I never would have thought I would be allowed to be this happy,” he answered.

I think I hugged his leg as he walked by. I’m not sure why I was sitting on the floor, but I suspect it had something to do with the newborn and diapers and sleepwalking. I love him so much. And I feel so lucky to have had Nick Ristow’s babies.

547768_483539815038797_1582491157_n

4 thoughts on “Snap Shot

  1. Ahhhhh, bless you Ristows, bless you. Isn’t it amazing how the best fairy tales are actually the ones full of leg hugs, sleepwalking and diapers?

Leave a Reply

