The last week of September.

Last week, I saw a picture of my son. I’ve never held him in my arms or smelled his sweet baby skin, but I saw his face. I saw amazing fingers and toes and a stubbornness that had him turning away from the attention. Or perhaps he is shy like my firstborn daughter.

Last week, many precious people were lost. In Redding and Medford both, people are grieving their loss.

And it all makes me think of my sweet mom.  She will never hold this baby boy that I carry inside of me. He will only know of her through my heart.

No, she walks where only the treasured ones are. In the presence of the Savior that we know in spirit and in truth, but not face to face as she does. Not face to face as these others that have gone before.

This morning, I read this in the Bible:

“So if someone tells you, ‘Look, the Messiah is out in the dessert,’ don’t bother to go and look. Or, ‘Look, He is hiding here,’ don’t believe it! For as lightning lights up the entire sky so it will be when the Son of Man comes.”- Matthew 24:26-27

I found this to be comforting, in a world where we cannot explain everything.  And so, naturally, we are left with many questions. Our God came as a baby once, showing a different kind of a power- not a power that oppresses and conquers, but a power that builds up the weak and lifts the broken up as if on wings of eagles, a God that knows our suffering! He walks among us now, this Holy Spirit, comforting us, helping us, guiding us on this journey. And He will come again, as lightning lights up the sky.

Until then, we cling to Him when we lose what is precious. We cling to Him always.

And we never lose hope; this hope we have in Him. The One that fashions new life inside of a womb.

starting new
Leave a Reply

