My pot of gold II

Remember my post “My Pot of Gold” ? I confessed how terribly difficult this past month has been, which was a little embarrassing considering all the other crap we have been through this year. But sometimes it is the littlest thing that finally knocks you down.

Well, with a little more sleep, a healed husband, and some good family time, the Ristows are back on track.

I also read Psalm 1, like I mentioned in the linked post above. I memorized it, and it’s been running through my head since that night. But one part in particular sticks with me. It reminds me of drinking lemonade on a hot day. Or being on a boat at the lake all day and finally getting to jump in. Or like when you’ve been in a funk and you finally get a great day with your family…

“Blessed is the man who…. delights in the law of the Lord, meditating on it day and night. They are like trees planted by the rivers of water, who bear fruit in their season, and whose leaves do not wither…” Psalm 1: (1-3)

There’s a lot more in there, but this verse really speaks to me right now. A tree planted by the water is never thirsty. A tree that produces fruit in its season is healthy and flourishing. A tree whose leaves do not wither never dies.

According to this verse, what do you have to do to become that tree?

Delight in the Lord.

What does that mean?

It means we consider His words. We read His Bible. We think of the things He is speaking throughout the day. Our focus is in the right things. It means to seek for Him.

The truth, the parts in the other verses that I didn’t list above, is that we will not become a deep-rooted tree if we take constantly get advice from people we should not be getting advice from. A picture comes to mind here. A few months ago I was in Ashland with my family and we came out of a shop to see a group guys sitting on the ground smoking pot. They were giving each other advice, and most of the talk centered around pizza. It was really funny, but the truth is that if you’re constantly getting advice from people who are sitting in their own crud, then you’ll just end up sitting in your own crud.

My husband was preaching once and he said, “You don’t just wake up one day and say ‘I’m gonna be a sinning bastard today!'” (You should have seen his face when I realized that he’d said “bastard” but no one seemed to notice). And it’s true. Most people don’t want to sit in their own crud. It’s a slow descent.

Think bigger. What do you really want out of life?

Stop going where you ought not to go. Stop thinking what you ought not to think. It’s easier said than done. For me I struggle in my thoughts. Like, when I get discouraged, my thoughts turn frustrated. Last week, I found myself grumbling about my husband when he had done nothing wrong. I was just upset and tried and let my thoughts just go. I snapped out of it and told him and we laughed about it. In his words, “You mean you were mad at me and I wasn’t even out of bed yet?”

Yep. Pretty much. I was wallowing and I just kept getting muddier and muddier.

I want to be like a flourishing tree. Yes, this month was hard. Yes, this year has had some pretty awful parts in it.

We’re all human. I had a bad month. So I guess the goal is not stay there. Go ahead and have your moments, then pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and go be who you are supposed to be. And maybe you’re not to that point yet. In that case, you need to surround yourself with people that will hold you up, encourage you, give you a hand up. We can’t do it alone.

Leave a Reply

