the monster.

I’m going to confess something.

I’ve never been one given to anger. I was never very close to that emotion. But now, occasionally, this ugly feeling rises up in me. It hurts. It feeds upon my hurt. And it always takes me a few minutes to recognize it.

Sometimes I look at it, study it, dissect it, feed it, encourage it. Very rarely do I look at it and then turn my back on it.

But I’m learning…

To not feed the monster.

Because the less I feed it, the weaker it will get it.

Dwell on what is pure, right, true. Think on these things. Even if your anger is justified, it’s not the ultimate truth. The ultimate truth is that we have been forgiven of much. We have only the choice to forgive. There is not other option.

There is no excuse.

And if you don’t believe me… look into the eyes of Jesus. When He’s staring you in the face, it’s very hard to focus on what others have done to you. The moment we look away is when we have the problem.

This isn’t ignorance. It’s not pretending. It’s not an illusion. It’s just the truth.

Forgiveness is a daily thing. Sometimes minute by minute. A choice we make over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over… so that the anger doesn’t take root in our hearts.

Don’t feed the monster and become consumed. But rather, feed the spirit and be free.

“For the Word of God is living and powerful , and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit , and joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. Heb. 4:12

2 thoughts on “the monster.

  1. So true! I find that this emotion is such a powerful one. It can easily come into your heart and stay there if you, feeling justified in your anger – as many of us often do – decide to focus on that feeling. How convicting! God has every reason to be angry with us for our sins and chooses instead to forgive. What an amazing example for our lives! In no way do I feel like it is easy to put aside our anger and determine to focus our hearts on fogiveness. It can be a challenge and we fall short constantly. Yet, it is God’s heart for us. Praying that we will all see God’s grace and focus on sharing that grace with others…

Leave a Reply

