Oh death, where is your victory?

Good Friday.

It’s the day that Jesus was killed. The day He took all the sins of world, past, present, and future and paid the price with His life. But it didn’t end there.

He went into hell and He took the keys of death. And He defeated death by rising again.

Do you know what this weekend means to me? So much more than it ever did before. I had lost before. But never like the loss of last year. And I’ll never fully recover from losing my mom.

To know that it didn’t end there in her room. To know that those last breaths were just the moments before she walked in glory. To know that when we said goodbye, seconds later she was walking through the gates of the city of God. And that thought she was seeing things she had never known before, none of it compared to the awesome beauty of her Savior.

To know Jesus. To see His face. To kneel at His feet. To glady throw the crown at His feet, wishing that she had done more for Him on earth just so that she could have had a bigger crown to lay at His feet . . .

I can only imagine.

Today is good. So much better than we know.

But some of us know. And we grieve.

When you see me this weekend, that’s what I’ll be thinking about.

When you say to me, “He is risen . . .”

I will think of my Savior who defeated death.

I will think of my precious mother who is alive.

And I will think of myself, my sisters, my children, my husband, my family . . .

“Oh death, where is your victory? Oh death, where is your sting? . . . But thank God! He gives us victory over sin and death through our Lord Jesus Christ!” 1 Corinthians 15:55,57.

It is time. Right now. Time to uncover the mysteries of God. Time to say to Him, “Yes, Lord. I want to know you. I want to love you.”

To know Him.

3 thoughts on “Oh death, where is your victory?

  1. Beautiful Katie. I grieve with you this day. There was no one like your mother. No one will take her place. I miss her but I am happy for her that she is rejoicing around the Throne of God with other loved ones..

Leave a Reply

