He who promised is faithful

I had another dream about my mom last night.

My phone rang. It was her. “My flight just got in at the airport. Can you come pick me up?” When I arrived, she was sitting at a picnic table in the sun. I wrapped my arms around her slowly, holding her for a very long time. Then Nick was there, and he said, “Wow, Dawn. You look so great. You can’t even tell that you once had cancer.” And I just held her and held her, as if it had been a very long time.

Thanks to God, who in His graciousness and great great love for me, lets me embrace my mom every once in a while. And you dreamers know that sometimes it’s as good as the real thing.

Nick and I married young. We were 21 and I don’t regret it. We were both in college full time and working and didn’t have much.  My mom used to always say that God owned all the cattle on a thousand hills, and that if we had need, she would just ask him to sell one for us. This was one of her most frequent sayings to me  throughout the years, throughout the ups and downs, whenever I would worry…

Last spring, she and I were talking on the phone. I don’t remember much, except for her again reminding me about all the cattle on a thousand hills…

This week we had tons of people at our house. And we didn’t run out of anything. We were blessed by the dinners and desserts made for us by friends and family that just “felt like cooking”. We were given a turkey, and my dad filled up the fridge and cupboards to feed the “hungry hoard” staying with us. Thanksgiving left us with tons of leftovers. When I had thought we would run out, our food supply just kept running over. Literally.

And then Friday evening, some friends showed up with a grocery bag. Full. Of farm raised beef. They said they had been given too much and needed to get rid of some. So I made space in my freezer, stepped back, and realized…

Someone had given us a cow. Literally.

“For all the animals of the forest are mine. And I own the cattle on a thousand hills. Every bird of the mountain and all the animals of the field belong to me. If I were hungry, I would not mention it to you, for all the world is mine and everything in it. I don’t need the bulls you sacrifice, and I don’t need the blood of goats. What I want instead is your true thanks to GOD; I want you to fulfill your vows to the Most High. Trust Me in your times of trouble, and I will rescue you, and you will give me glory ” Psalm 50:10-15

For He is a good God.

 

 

3 thoughts on “He who promised is faithful

  1. Perhaps I don’t pray enough these days. I do pray every night, and at most meals, but I ended up alone on Thanksgiving again, and this is the 5th year. It makes me feel sad and unloved

  2. Katie: wow what a beautiful picture of your dream i can totally see it. thanks also i heard your mom’s voice through your words. and your sensitivity to what the Holy Spirit is showing is also strengthing u and us who read your writings! a beef cow in your freezer (lol) and i’m sure your Papa God was smiling!

    luv u,

    treva

Leave a Reply

