…the missing pieces…

I have always been confident that nothing I discover, learn, or find will change who Jesus is.

But that’s not the world we live in. After over a decade of working with teenage youth and now college age adults, I have been asked a lot of questions. Some of which, do not have simple answers.

Why does God let bad things happen?

Why is there sin?

If God’s really in control, then . . . why?

I have questions. After this year, how could I not? But nothing is going to change who God is.

God is who He is.

He is the same yesterday, today, forever. But that answer doesn’t always satisfy the questioning heart. The teen who’s parents criticize them. The young woman who’s marriage is broken. The young man who is striving to obey God and just meets opposition year after year after year after year . . .

My husband has made me a better person. He has driven me to dissect the scriptures too. Not necessarily because I need more answers, but because others will ask. And when they do, I need to be able to give an account of what I believe and why.

But even after 28 years there are still things that I can’t explain.

There are age-old theology debates that still rage on hundreds of years later. Both sides being able to provide scripture to prove their point. So where does that leave us? Hopefully in the pursuit to know Him more. Not to win a debate, but to know the truth. To understand the missing pieces.

more pieces...

But perhaps there is comfort in those missing pieces. The pieces that are found only in the presence of God. The pieces that remind us that He is God and we are not.

The pieces that remind us that if we did understand it all, then He would not be God. The pieces that keep up in pursuit of Him, drawing nearer, clinging, grasping out of love to know the One that gave it all for us.

To know His heart.

I saw a young woman become so discouraged that she could not understand everything about God. She said, “I need to know it all.” And she was never satisfied with the answers that scripture gave. Her pursuit was to know everything because then she would be in complete control. Sadly, she’s missing the point completely. Thank God that He is close by, ready to answer her questions if she would only look to Him.

I once knew a young man that wanted to prove God through science. He went into the world to prove God existed. But he had forgotten that the world does not know God. The world rejected Him. And thus this young man had a crisis of faith. Thank God that He is close by, ready to answer his questions. If only he would turn from the world and look to Christ, the author and finisher of faith.

All of the mysteries of God are in Him.

If you have questions, ask Him. Spend your life pursuing Him and the fullness of all that He is. I’ve been doing it for 20 years, and what a wild ride it has been. But planted on the solid Word of God, I am safe. Safe to know that God is who He is. And nothing I learn will change that.

2 thoughts on “…the missing pieces…

  1. mmm 20 years well spent, I have been pursuing him for 20 years too! šŸ™‚ hey, what did my dream mean to you, my facebook is broken, email me

  2. I love what you wrote about your husband, even though that’s not the whole point of the post, and yes I can totally resonate with not having all the answers or understanding God and all that. BUT, this I know without a doubt: my man makes me a better person, too….

Leave a Reply

