Yummy Carcinogens

This might amount to nothing more than ramblings, but here I go anyway.

The past week and a half of my life has been pretty amazing. A lot of new changes. New friendships. New family. It’s also been full of a lot of mistakes, some hurt, some confusion. I know we’re all human. And we all make mistakes. And that I have been forgiven much. Even this week. I was forgiven for something really foolish. But I really hate, I mean hate, when I see those I care about most getting hurt by people in the church… Especially when I am just as guilty. Sigh.

So.. this scripture is for you, those that have been hurt, and for those that are hypocrites, of which I am chief.

“For if you remain completely silent at this time, relief and deliverance will arise for the Jews from another place, but you and your father’s house will die. Yet who knows whether you have come to the kingdom for such a time as this?” Ester 4:14.

So what I take from that is…

You might not be in a situation you chose to be in, surrounded by people you don’t want to be with, having to make a decision that you don’t want to make and don’t feel worthy to make… but perhaps, yikes, God put you there. Just as He put Esther, a lowly descendant of a slave nation, in the seat of royalty… so she could save an entire race of people. I’m not saying God purposed for you to be miserable, I’m just saying, that maybe… just maybe… of all the people on this planet, He chose YOU to be right where you are because you were the one He wanted to get the job done. And that just kind of makes me feel… worthy in God’s eyes. Good enough for Him. Forgiven. Ready to face the next critic.

Or maybe you’re stomping all over some fellow brothers and sisters and you need to stop it. Right now. Step back, get your stuff in order, and get back to work loving on people. They will know you by your love…

So I’m helping with worship yesterday and a little distracted by stuff and I start listening to the words I’m singing.

Oh clap your hands all you people. Shout unto God with triumph.

Everything I once held dear, I count it all as loss. Lead me to the cross where Your love poured out.

Draw me to my knees, Lord I lay me down.

I will sing a song of hope, sing along, God of heaven come down, heaven come down.

Just to know that you are near is enough.

And I’m reminded that God is bigger. This may not be enough for your science driven theology, or your logic driven cynicism. But for me, having walked in the valley of the shadow of death, I KNOW it’s true. My God is bigger. And I am here for such a time as this.

And because God is bigger, despite all the yuck, I’ve had a great couple of days. Hence the picture below where I am roasting marshmallows over the stove. Yeah, it did smell really bad.

Yummy Carcinogens


2 thoughts on “Yummy Carcinogens

  1. Katie, it looks like you and Nick are having entirely to much fun with those marshmellows. I use to love to roast marshmellows in the rings at Huntington Beach at night. However now that I have moved out of CA and away from the beaches, I discovered another way to really enjoy melted marshmellows. I put one on each cracker (4 in all) and put peanut butter on 4 other crackers and I put the ones with the marshmellows on in the microwave for about 10 to 15 seconds, watching them very carefully. When they swell up really big, I take them oiut and combine them on the other peanut butter cracker and really enjoy eating them while they are still sort of hot. Yum, yum. Try it and I bet Nick would like it that way also.

Leave a Reply

