How sweet the sound

Some days suck. Some days we see things we should never see. We experience things that we were never supposed to experience.

Sometimes bad things happen to good people. Sometimes life is more unfair than you ever thought it could be. Sometimes you go through the most painful things you will ever go through. Sometimes you just want to turn it off. Hit rewind. Because THIS. WAS. NOT. SUPPOSED. TO. HAPPEN.

And then… in the midst of the suffocating hurt and fear… you see it. A glimspe. A glimpse of the glory of God.

He makes all things new

Today, I learned what comfort is. I wrote thank you notes for my mom, helped her get lunch, propped up her pillows, and laughed with her over jumbled sentences. I held her hand while she slept, and I let her kiss my cheek over and over again. She told me I was the apple of her eye and then said, “But I’m sure that sounds better when God says it.”

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted

Then friends came over. One of them brought a ukulele and sat beside her bed and sang songs. Another friend sang harmony. My sister and dad were there. I stayed in the doorway because I knew I was seeing and hearing something priceless. She waved me in and kissed both my cheeks and forehead, then said, “I love you very, very much.”

The comfort is the beauty in the ashes. The beauty in the sorrow. A treasured embrace in the midst of beautiful music.

Without God, there would be no beauty. It would be heap of sorrow too heavy to bear. But because of Him, we do not bear it alone. There is ONE who lifts the burdens from our shoulders and takes us in His arms, and lets us weep… all the while collecting each tear in a bottle because each one is important to Him.

And then He promises “forever.”

Amazing grace how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me.
Mat 5:4 Blessed are those who mourn, For they shall be comforted.
4 thoughts on “How sweet the sound

  1. Katie how beautiful!!!!! You have God-given talent. After everyone left your dad, the girls and myself spent about 1/2 hour with your mom. She was so funny and our spirits were lifted. I love you!

Leave a Reply

