A Spoonful of Hope…

I have a page on my blog called “words.” It lists the scriptures that have been getting me and my mom and family through her sickness. Psalm 27 and Psalm 118. My mom reads these over and over again and so I read them over and over again; passages so drenched in hope that I could never doubt the love of Christ.

But there are two verses specifically that are always on my mind:

Psalm 27: 13 “I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.”

Psalm 118: 17 “I shall not die, but live, and declare the works of the Lord.”

What are the verses that pull you up when you’re at your lowest? Please share them here. For all the   people that read this blog and need some hope today.

6 thoughts on “A Spoonful of Hope…

  1. Romans 8:26 “In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express.”… This blows my mind that Jesus is praying for our pains. Jesus, the Lord of Lords and King of Kings, is praying for me, a sinner; a filthy, dirty ragamuffin. How can One so Great love one so evil and in pain?

  2. Psalm 121

    I lift my eyes to the hills- where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip- he who watches over you will not slumber; indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep. The Lord watches over you- The Lord is your shade at your right hand; the sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night. The Lord will keep you from all harm- he will watch over your life; the Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.

  3. I love that you asked this Katie.
    Your mom turned me to Psalms 91:1
    “Safety of Abiding in the presence of God”
    He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High
    Shall abide under the shadow of the Almight.

    I would read the entire 91st passage over and over as she had me to do.
    I was in a very frightening place at that moment in the hospital, your mom was there for me.

  4. And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. Rom 8:28

  5. Phil. 4:4-7 4Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

    Psalm 46:10 10 “Be still, and know that I am God;

Leave a Reply

