Cotton Candy Fishin’

God is good all the time. All the time God is good.

Do you know how I know?

I arrived in Redding on Saturday and spent most of the afternooon sitting on my mom’s bed. We talked, shared stories, caught up, and went  fishing. Actually, my sweet little daughter went fishing. Through an open bedroom window, with a fishing pole and some help from Papa and my sisters, Izzy caught a fish. A cotton-candy fish. Okay… it was a bag of cotton- candy. But … it was so special.

Izzy had a dream months ago of her and Papa going cotton candy fishing. She woke up laughing. It was one of the sweetest moments of my life. And so while we were all gathered by my mom’s bed, Grandpa recreated the dream for her. I’ll post the video of it soon, because it was so magical. She stuck the poll out the window and reeled in cotton-candy.

I think you understand why this Easter, spent in a manner I would never have chosen for my mom, will always be a special one. And why, even though I’ve never liked the taste of it, cotton-candy will henceforth be very, very special to me.

Or why… in the midst… God is so, so, very good.

2 thoughts on “Cotton Candy Fishin’

  1. Katie that is an awesome Easter. No better way than being near the woman who raised you to be a woman of faith & love just like her.
    Thank you for sharing your “Ristows wife” with the world. Your a wonderful writer & story teller.

  2. Katie,
    Your faith is such an encouragement. Your dad seems like an amazing guy. I will continue to pray for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

